ausis banner
AuSIS Forums
Australia seismology colleges - Printable Version

+- AuSIS Forums (http://ausis.edu.au/forum)
+-- Forum: AuSIS Forum (/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Welcome (/forumdisplay.php?fid=2)
+--- Thread: Australia seismology colleges (/showthread.php?tid=1671)

Pages: 1 2 3

Australia seismology colleges - Tom - 5 Apr 2015 02:40

I'm a dentist, my father - too, but my son like paleoseismology Undecided And he likes Australia Big Grin Can you, guys, give me an advice about colleges and universities who have programs in seismology? Is it good idea to move to Australia from US or we are too crazy?

Thanks!

RE: Australia seismology colleges - Natalie - 5 Apr 2015 10:54

(5 Apr 2015 02:40)Tom Wrote:  I'm a dentist, my father - too, but my son like paleoseismology Undecided And he likes Australia Big Grin Can you, guys, give me an advice about colleges and universities who have programs in seismology? Is it good idea to move to Australia from US or we are too crazy?

Thanks!

Hi Tom,
You certainly don't need to come all the way to Australia do study seismology or paleoseismology. There are lots of good Universities and colleges in the USA that have good programs. In fact, although I work on seismology in Australia I have actually done all my study in other counties. I grew up in New Zealand and did my undergrad studies there and then did my PhD in Canada. I would suggest your son starts his studies in the USA and then if he really wants to travel and study in other countries he can then look at other options.
Seismology and paleoseismology are quite different in some ways.